Strange Apple's Blog

Where are the parents of teens with bipolar?

Posted on: March 2, 2011

When I first started this blog, I searched for blogs written by other parents.

I found some good blogs written by parents of young children with bipolar disorder but couldn’t seem to find anyone with a teen / young adult.

It might seem odd, but I just want to read about it from someone else’s perspective. Surely there’s someone else out there who feels just as bloody helpless as I do? Someone else who doesn’t know what to say when your child tells you that he doesn’t want to live let alone get out of bed some days. Someone else whose heart is breaking.

Maybe someone who has been there done that, and doesn’t necessarily have the answers, but has some pointers?

3 Responses to "Where are the parents of teens with bipolar?"

My daughter may only be 7 going on 8, but I understand the feeling of helplessness. You may have one who is a different age, but you are not alone. Mine will be a teenager, too, soon enough. It’s so hard, some days, that it is hard to describe. All I can tell you is that there are others of us. My little girl routinely wanted to “be dead” until recently when I started homeschooling, but, believe me, taking her out of school did NOT solve all of her problems.
One way to look at it is this: He has you, so he has much more than many bipolar kids in having a great advocate and someone who loves him through all of this. Just your being there is doing SO much! ((((Hugs)))) – Celia

Thanks Celia, I still read your blog and I see the struggles you are going through. You’re making me cry. Thank you.

psst… that wasn’t a sarcastic thank you. It was a thank you for being there and for sharing what you’re going through, and also for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • strangeapple: I don't like to fail, and I feel like I've failed. I think that's what it is. Big knock to my ego. I saw a psych the other week, she made sense, p
  • strangeapple: Holy fuck, I had a doctors appointment this evening that I didn't go to. Fuck. Fuck. Fuck.
  • corymbia: I do the stiff upper lip thing too. Was worried I was slipping into bona-fide depression last week, but as is usually the case with me... the bad stu

Categories

